JESUS ♥ · RANDOM THOUGHTS

LOVE is…

“Ipapa shoot to kill ko sya”

“Wag sya magpapakita sakin ng buhay.”

“Napaka unfair nya.”

“Napakatanga ko talaga.”

It’s easy to utter careless statements when we are hurt. The feeling is so suffocating when someone disappointed us. When we are angry and hurt, it’s easy to plot revenge.

But I have to accept the fact that only those we love have the capacity to hurt us.

Last night, during my daily devotion, God taught me a hard truth. It is to LOVE. To just love. Without ifs and whys. Without condition…even if they don’t deserve it.

Easier said than done, right? But that is love. That is the kind of love that God has lavished on us. That is the kind of love that God wants us to give. Borrowing lines from one of my fave songs…

…Sometimes forgiveness is like a man at war

God only knows why love is worth the fall

Maybe that’s what makes it love…

 

…God only knows why love is drenched in tears

Maybe that’s what makes it love…

 

LOVE is one of the few things that is hard to understand. Why to love the unlovable? Why forgive the unforgivable? Why love when there’s no reason to love at all? But God is not interested in our intellect. He didn’t ask us to understand. He just wanted us to obey. (Romans 13:8: “Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.”)

“But how to love Lord? How can I love someone who didn’t love me back? How can I show my love for someone who’s not concern with my feelings?”

“Daughter, go back to My Word.”

 

GOD, IN HIS GENTLE WHISPER, ALLOWED ME TO GO BACK TO ONE OF MY FAVE VERSES.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

-One of the values that is hard for me to learn is being patient and kind. I speak harshly to him. I was even boastful and proud. I only recognize his mistakes but not mine.

 

It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking,

-I only think of my feelings. I am consumed by myself. I dishonored him by telling everyone of what he has done. I forgot to honor him as person. I forgot the feelings I had when he dishonored me. And that is the exact reason why I shouldn’t do the same… I’ve been there and that hurts.

 

It is not easily angered; it keeps no record of wrongs.

-Someone taught me how he manages his anger. He said that he is allowing himself to have 15 mins to analyze everything before going back to the person he is supposed to be angry. Then, if after 15 mins and he’s still angry, he’s giving himself another 15 mins. And he told me that never did that 15-min practice betrayed him because 15 mins is enough for him to let go of his anger. Maybe I should adopt this, too. LOVE KEEPS NO RECORD OF WRONGS… Ok Lord, I need you in this.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

-I even cursed him and act as if I am not a Christian. God has a high standard of not being delighted in evil. I became like the person who hurt me. I am no longer different with the way I respond to what he did.

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

“Lord, so… loving someone is an impossible thing, right? You’re asking for too much. It is not practical and doable. Maybe You should have spend time to review your standard of LOVE… Maybe something easier for us.”

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. (Matthew 19:26)”

“Ok God… I need you because I’m too weak to even handle myself. I need You more that I ever thought.”

Leave a Reply

